T +27 21 526 2800 | F +27 21 526 2801

Meet Ilne van der Westhuizen

Patent Attorney

A patent attorney with a PhD in chemistry.


Ilne van der Westhuizen is a qualified patent attorney with a PhD in chemistry. She has experience in protecting chemistry, material science, polymer science, pharmaceutical, biotechnology and medical device inventions.

Before joining Von Seidels, Ilne obtained a PhD degree in chemistry at Stellenbosch University. Her PhD studies in the Supramolecular Materials Research Group involved the synthesis of novel crystalline materials that are porous and can be used in gas storage applications. She has four years of research experience in the fields of solid-state chemistry, material science and X-ray crystallography.

Her practice involves drafting patent specifications, prosecuting foreign patent applications to grant and conducting patent searches to provide patentability and infringement opinions to clients. She has also been involved with patent litigation relating to pharmaceutical and agrochemical products. Her quick grasp of technical concepts allows her to advise clients in diverse fields of technology.

Contact Ilne

Direct: +27 21 526 2800


  • Stellenbosch University, BSc in Chemical Biology, cum laude (2008)
  • Stellenbosch University, BSc (Honours) in Chemistry, cum laude (2009)
  • Stellenbosch University, PhD in Chemistry (2013)
  • University of South Africa, LLB, cum laude (2018)
  • South African Institute of Intellectual Property Law, Qualified Patent Attorney (2018)

Focus Areas

> Patent specification drafting
> Patent prosecution
> Patentability searches and opinions
> Infringement searches and opinions
> Patent litigation
> Registered designs

Affiliations and Accolades

  • Attorney of the High Court, South Africa
  • Patent Attorney, South Africa
  • Fellow, South African Institute of Intellectual Property Law (SAIIPL)
  • Rector’s Award for excellence in academics at Stellenbosch University, 2010
  • James Moir medal from the South African Chemical Institute and SMM award for the best chemistry Honours student at Stellenbosch University, 2009
  • Merck prize for the best final year chemistry student at Stellenbosch University, 2008